NACE Foundation Recognizes Outstanding Students and Entertains Conference Attendees

NACE Past Presidents Scholarship – Rovi Enriquez – Cal Poly Pomona

This year, the NACE Foundation combined its evening fundraising event with the scholarship awards ceremony and what resulted was one incredible night at The Depot in downtown Salt Lake City!

During the Scholarship Awards Ceremony, sponsored by BP, the Foundation awarded 23 scholarships to 20 outstanding students, chosen by selection committees based on their academic excellence, work experience, professional activities and commitment to the corrosion industry.

After the ceremony, the students and other event attendees hit the dance floor and were thoroughly entertained by the engaging Groove Merchants band.  Soul Train-Disco at the Depot, presented by Champion Technologies and supporting sponsor, DNV, brought in net proceeds of more than $45,000 to support the Foundation’s programs and scholarships.

The NACE Foundation would like to expressly thank all of our sponsors, as well as congratulate our deserving scholarship recipients for 2012. Congratulations to the following 2012 scholarship recipients:

NACE Foundation Academic Scholarship
Blake Whitley, University of Alabama

NACE Past Presidents Scholarship
Roviden Enriquez, Cal Poly Pomona

NACE Foundation Book Scholarship
Samantha Lawrence, Washington State University
Mersedeh Akhoondan, University of South Florida

MTI Bert Krisher Memorial Scholarship
Cameron Curtis, Virginia Tech

Hans Schmoldt Scholarship in Cathodic Protection
Mary Cole, University of Akron

Philadelphia Section Liberty Bell Scholarship
Frank Zaborowski, Pennsylvania State University

Mark Miller Memorial Scholarship
Renee Lau, University of California, Los Angeles

NACE Eastern Area Scholarship
David Waligorski, University of Akron

NACE Sandia Mountain Scholarship
Emma Janisch, Colorado School of Mines

NACE Detroit Section Scholarship
Nathan Boswell, Western Michigan University
Joshua Webb, Wayne State University

NACE Southern Florida Section Scholarship
Brian Weber, Florida Atlantic University

David Velasco, Universidad Industrial de Santander

Gordon Rankin Corrosion Engineering Scholarship
Stephen Callow, University of Akron
Blake Whitley, University of Alabama

MJ Schiff Fellowship Fund
Ryan Zimmerman

BP-NACE Foundation Scholarship
Stephen Callow, University of Akron
Zackary Lerch, University of Akron

Carboline-NACE Foundation Scholarship
Derrick Coy, University of Akron
Kyle Platt, University of Akron
David Waligorski, University of Akron

Mears Group-NACE Foundation Scholarship
Stephen Ball, University of Akron
Jacob Sines, University of Akron

2012 Scholarship Recipients Photo Gallery:

[foogallery id=”1989″]

Comments are closed.